Marinara Sauce

Yesterday I found a recipe online for a crock pot marinara sauce.  I used that idea and tweaked it a little bit.  The recipe called for canned crushed tomatoes.  I wanted to use all those frozen tomatoes from the garden.  My mom had told me if you run frozen tomatoes under water, the skins will loosen and come off, just like if you dunk them in boiling water.  It worked!  She’s so smart!  I used a colander and just ran the tomatoes under hot water until the skins loosened.

Since the tomatoes were frozen, after I took the skins off, I put them in a bowl of hot water to defrost a little bit.  Then I put them in the blender with some of the water the tomatoes had been soaking in.  (Yep, forgot to take a picture of the blended tomatoes, so all you get is the empty blender…)

I dumped the tomatoes in the crock pot.  I did leave a few whole tomatoes in there for texture.

Then I added about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, a tablespoon of minced garlic, a couple tablespoons of brown sugar, a can of tomato paste (I know, I shouldn’t ruin homemade sauce with paste, but I like the thickness it adds, along with the added flavor.)  I added a good amount of dried basil and italian seasoning.  It was also the first time I used my dehydrated onions.  They were crunchy enough I didn’t need to cut them with a knife.  I just crumbled them up with my fingers.  Some were a little more chewy, so I just left them in bigger pieces.

Ready for a stir…

Ready to turn on the heat

I cooked this on low for about 7 hours, then I was starving and wanted to eat dinner, so I scooped some out.  It was delicious, but still a little runny, so I left it cooking for another 4 hours, then put it in the fridge over night.  Oh, the dehydrated onions turned out perfect.  They re-hydrated and looked and tasted just like a fresh onion.

This is what it looked like this morning.  I put it in some freezer jam containers and put it in the freezer.

Categories: Freezing, homemade, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

