I love it when a plan comes together!

I love to cook, but hate trying to figure out what to make for dinner, especially when I’ve been at work all day and am tired and hungry and grumpy.

Every once in a while I have a day where I actually decide what to make for dinner before dinner time.  I’m trying to plan out a week’s worth of meals at a time, or at least an idea of a week’s worth of meals.  Last night I tried an orange chicken recipe, so while I was thawing chicken for it, I threw some more chicken in the oven to use tonight.  Kyle LOVES chicken pot pie.  He would be happy if I made it twice a week.  My waist line would not be happy if I did.  A couple years ago I got The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook.  She has the BEST chicken pot pie recipe, and pie crust recipe.  To find her recipes, go to her website, http://www.thepioneerwoman.com.  She has seriously changed my life.  Well, at least kept  my husband from leaving me!  Her recipes are not diet friendly, but they are husband friendly, especially if your husband likes meat and potatoes, or good ole comfort food.

I try to cut down on the fat in her recipes when I can, for example, her chicken pot pie recipe calls for cream.  I usually just use milk, but since I had cream today, I did use it.  I wanted to see what the difference was in taste.

The pioneer woman’s pie crust recipe makes two crusts.  The other day I found some blackberries buried in the freezer and decided I should use them up.  So yesterday I thought hmmm….if I make chicken pot pie, I’ll have an extra crust, what if I just make blackberry pie too.  (I know, sometimes my geniusness amazes me!)

I now have a blackberry pie cooling on the counter and my chicken pot pie filling waiting for me to toss the crust on and stick in the oven. Oh, and the dishes drying in the rack.  All before 4:00.

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

